Sierra Day 4

[Now begin the reconstructions—without cell service, I stopped writing posts after the third day.]

After a fairly good night (despite having passed up the site I was looking for due to my lack of navigational skills), I moved along on this fourth day. The valley wended down past the Florence Lake Trail (which a few other hikers were headed out on), drawing up beside the South Fork San Joaquin River. I stopped early in the day by this, the largest river I’d come across, to rest on the rocks and wash whatever dirt I could off my legs. (I had done this a couple of other times, always an exciting event in the icy streams of the Sierra. I invented many a new and amusing curse phrase in the process.) Listening to the river roar past (even in this low-water year), resting in the shade, I thought that if I had to put up a cabin in the woods, this would be the spot. (Later in the day, I found an actual cabin.)

The trail wound through a lot of flats and drops, always opening onto more spectacular scenes—I almost started to resent every new panorama, since I felt compelled to stop and take a few high-definition photos every single time I saw one, which put a hitch in my pace. I started passing through broad meadows, but because of the drought, they were often only green-centered, with huge swaths of browning plants and dry creek beds beyond the main waterways. At Evolution Meadow I started catching sight of Evolution Creek, which would be my companion for the next couple of days.

By evening, I had reached McClure Meadow, which was the most glorious sight I’d yet seen. The sunset lit the expanse with warm gold; hillsides festooned with huge pines rose on all sides, and the granite peaks, majestic but often rather sere up close, towered in the distance. A small ranger’s cabin equipped with solar panels and a great fire pit stood hard on the meadow’s edge. In fact, the cabin got me in a bit of trouble: the PCT guide suggested that there were many good camping spots “around” the cabin, and seeing large expanses of flat, dry ground around it, I dropped my gear and started making camp for the night, since the ranger was out on patrol in the next valley. But then the ranger returned and let me know in rather decisive tones that the aforementioned camping spots were “around” the cabin in a much broader sense, and that hikers sleeping near the edifice were not particularly welcome. So everything went back into the pack and I trundled a hundred yards down to a more acceptable (and no less lovely) spot.

This night also started a turn in my fortunes. I met a nice couple camping nearby who were talking about their plans and who passed along the ranger’s warning that the following days might bring a change of weather—including the possibility of some significant snow. I hadn’t had any cell service for several days, so I hadn’t known of any changes. Being the alarmist person I am, and knowing that I could handle some inclement weather but wasn’t prepared to sit through a major storm, I started plotting where I might head off the trail a bit earlier than planned. After a great deal of mental anguish and prayer, I decided to try for Bishop’s Pass, seventeen miles south, and to get there as soon as possible. (Since the pass was over 12,000 feet and the weather was supposed to come in within a couple of days, I wanted to be over and out before anything started dropping.) As my longest day so far had been about 13 miles and I had Muir Pass to get over, I was daunted, but I imagined I had little choice. At least the sleep that night was a good one.

IMG_2726IMG_2742Meadow Wonderland

Categories: Uncategorized | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Sierra Day 4

  1. John Eldevik

    I still don’t know how you even managed to hike instead of just standing there slack-jawed for hours staring at scenery. The sheer scale and rawness of that wilderness is breathtaking. You should develop some of these pictures to hang in your house, if you haven’t already. Or heck, offer them for sale to raise money for your next trek!

  2. I so like John’s ideas about the pictures! And I wish Mr. Ranger hadn’t been so grumpy pants; glad you could mosey on down the trail and rest well that night.

    • John Eldevik

      I would guess you don’t get the ranger assignment at that post if you like to be around people a lot. (“Dammit, Sarge, you better get me as far a way from humans as feasibly possible! Or I’m a gonna lose it!” “Well, Bob, I know a remote shack in the High Sierra that might be right for you…”)

What thinkest thou?

Blog at WordPress.com.

SOBAD Adventures

It's not about the destination; It's about the journey

The Incline of the Crest

A Romp Through the West

nancyhikes

A place to share my adventures, travels and photos

embracing the path

adventurer, seeker, explorer

Korbi Thalhammer

Adventures--both urban and wild--with Korbi

Deeper Waters

Diving into the ocean of truth.

15 Million Steps

Built on a collection of words, photography, and videos

Rediscovering The Soul

My life re-imagined

Stories From A Nomad

Inspiring stories from an epic journey of life by one

REMOTE LEIGH

off the beaten path

One Who Cannot

There are some who can live without wild things, and some who cannot - Aldo Leopold

I Could Drive Forever

but i'm walking instead

Comments on:

Being a record of the journeys of a literary sojourner

Trail Kit

Being a record of the journeys of a literary sojourner

Becky and Luke Hike the PCT

Follow us as we walk 2,660 miles from Mexico to Canada on the Pacific Crest Trail

kelsey hikes

2660 miles on the PCT

Quetzaltrekking on the PCT

Hiking volcanoes (and now the Pacific Crest Trail) to help kids

Just Two Hikers

The Adventures of Dormouse and Dirt Stew

Love and Dirt

adventure du jour

Authored Angioplasty

A Poem Project

Wee Jots

Learning to be ever steady in who He is.

I am You. We are God.

A Call To Consciousness

Navigating the surface

Pacific Crest Trail 2014, Northbound hiker journal.

Being a record of the journeys of a literary sojourner

Cheeseburger Hikes

Being a record of the journeys of a literary sojourner

Doodles Does the PCT

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Eat, Hike, Repeat

From the PCT to the CT

Whiteburn's Wanderings

One man's wanderings backpacking around Scotland plus the odd digression

The Girl Who Lived

Being a record of the journeys of a literary sojourner

trekalong.com/

books and stories of travel and adventure

Jan's Jaunts and Jabberings

Just some joyful jawing about backpacking, hiking and snowshoeing

So Many Miles

Thru-hiking. Truck-driving. Miles.

getsomepct

Get Some: Steph and Art's Pacific Crest Trail Journey.

Wild Writes

By Anna M. Cohen

Hitting The Trail

In every walk with nature, one receives far more that he seeks.~ John Muir

DREAMING OF THE PACIFIC CREST TRAIL

Planning my PCT 2015 adventure..From the start in Oklahoma to the end in Canada

