Catching Up, Part 1

Well, it’s been a while, hasn’t it? I’ve been off the trail for a few weeks after making it to Crater Lake and meeting up with my parents and sister. I spent a lovely few days in Boise with them, then journeyed home to my much missed family. The tale of the reintegration and handling of domestic and professional affairs shall come soon. The short version is that I will not be attempting the thru-hike, due to a combination of timing, physical condition, a change in focus, and other considerations. I’ll be altering the blog to reflect this in the coming days.

However, I wanted to catch up on the days when I was still on the trail, though out of contact internet-wise. This is the first part of the trek from Fish Lake to Crater Lake. The second installment will follow soon.

After I left Fish Lake on that fateful Thursday, I entered the true wilderness as defined by the fact that I couldn’t get cell service at any point.

The rain had tapered off when I left, but it was still quite wet, so I packed up ready for water. All the vegetation was soaked, and soon, so was I. The temperature was pleasantly cool and the cloud cover was nice, but it was a very damp day. Every time my shoes and socks had warmed up with walking, another sluicing wash of cold water would sop down my legs.

It was also my first day of mosquito madness. Even covered in DEET (thank you, modern chemicals!), they came nosing around in clouds any time I stopped. Thankfully, the poison worked and I thought I had come through unscathed (though I had to put on my head net to set up my tent, then had to throw my pack and myself inside, and then had to relentlessly hunt down the infiltrators that came in with me). Checking later, though, I found a great many bites on my arms, legs, and torso, inflicted by the sneaky beasties by either making their way in though gaps between the buttons or attacking directly through the fabric.

I try to stay at the cutting edge of fashion even on the trail.

I try to stay at the cutting edge of fashion even on the trail.

The forests in the mist were primeval, with huge garlands of hanging moss on dark, close-packed branches. Many a tree was down across the trail, and one of these gave me my first fall of the trip. (God watches out for children and fools, though, and I managed to land on soft, damp ground.) Much of the hike for those days was nearly silent, with little birdsong and only the occasional breeze through the trees.

Fish Lake feeder stream.

Fish Lake feeder stream.

The swamps of Oregon.

The swamps of Oregon.

The next day was meant to be warmer, but if it was it was imperceptibly so. Clouds soared across the sky before gusting winds all day. I stopped a few times when the sun would peep through, trying to spread out my gear to dry, but the cursed daystar would then immediately go into hiding again.

Cloudstrewn

I made my way past Shale Butte, then the ominously named Lucifer and the Devil’s Peak as evening was falling. (O, strange pioneers, with your penchant for naming any anomalous geographic feature after the devil! He didn’t really play a part in sculpting the landscape, you know.)

The evening took on darker, more ominous tones.

The evening took on darker, more ominous tones.

And here’s where the adventures really began. The north slope of Devil’s Peak was covered in snow, too deeply and steeply to cross. Clearly some folks had glissaded down the slope sitting down, but in the evening light, it was more than I wanted to risk. The wind was a cold gale on the ridge, and the fog was blowing in and out, so I couldn’t hunker down and wait for the next day (at least not nearby). I explored further down the ridge, looking for a clear patch to descend, my heart pounding as I scrambled along, holding on to leaning trees and loose stones. But no way offered.

A dangerous crossing.

A dangerous crossing.

Feeling defeated, I climbed back to the trail and retraced my route, hoping to catch the 7 Lakes Trail, which would add a few miles but would circle around to meet up with the PCT eventually.

I found the side trail and started down.

Then I found that it, too, was snowed in. The slope was steep and made up of jagged, loose rocks, varying from sub-compact to fist sized. Darkness was descending, so, feeling no small amount of trepidation, so did I. I climbed about halfway down the slope before it grew too dim to continue. I found a small island of soil and trees amidst the scree, pitched my tent on a flat-ish slope, and curled up for the night.

Sleeping amidst a sea of stone.

Sleeping amidst a sea of stone.

To be continued…

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

What thinkest thou?

Blog at WordPress.com.

SOBAD Adventures

It's not about the destination; It's about the journey

The Incline of the Crest

A Romp Through the West

nancyhikes

A place to share my adventures, travels and photos

embracing the path

adventurer, seeker, explorer

Korbi Thalhammer

Adventures--both urban and wild--with Korbi

Deeper Waters

Diving into the ocean of truth.

15 Million Steps

Built on a collection of words, photography, and videos

Rediscovering The Soul

My life re-imagined

Stories From A Nomad

Inspiring stories from an epic journey of life by one

REMOTE LEIGH

off the beaten path

One Who Cannot

There are some who can live without wild things, and some who cannot - Aldo Leopold

I Could Drive Forever

but i'm walking instead

Comments on:

Being a record of the journeys of a literary sojourner

Trail Kit

Being a record of the journeys of a literary sojourner

Becky and Luke Hike the PCT

Follow us as we walk 2,660 miles from Mexico to Canada on the Pacific Crest Trail

kelsey hikes

2660 miles on the PCT

Quetzaltrekking on the PCT

Hiking volcanoes (and now the Pacific Crest Trail) to help kids

Just Two Hikers

The Adventures of Dormouse and Dirt Stew

Love and Dirt

adventure du jour

Authored Angioplasty

A Poem Project

Wee Jots

Learning to be ever steady in who He is.

Navigating the surface

Pacific Crest Trail 2014, Northbound hiker journal.

Being a record of the journeys of a literary sojourner

Cheeseburger Hikes

Being a record of the journeys of a literary sojourner

Doodles Does the PCT

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Eat, Hike, Repeat

From the PCT to the CT

Whiteburn's Wanderings

One man's wanderings backpacking around Scotland plus the odd digression

The Girl Who Lived

Being a record of the journeys of a literary sojourner

trekalong.com/

books and stories of travel and adventure

Jan's Jaunts and Jabberings

Just some joyful jawing about backpacking, hiking and snowshoeing

So Many Miles

Thru-hiking. Truck-driving. Miles.

getsomepct

Get Some: Steph and Art's Pacific Crest Trail Journey.

Wild Writes

By Anna M. Cohen

Hitting The Trail

In every walk with nature, one receives far more that he seeks.~ John Muir

DREAMING OF THE PACIFIC CREST TRAIL

Planning my PCT 2015 adventure..From the start in Oklahoma to the end in Canada

