What Is Love?

Oh, Oregon: I know you don’t like people from California moving up into you, but once they’ve seen you, can you blame them?

I’m ensconced tonight in a dark forest with the daylight streaming through the trees as it slips away. The wind has kicked up, and it’s sort of beautiful and haunting.

The good news is, I made about fifteen miles and I feel entirely in working order. We shall see what tomorrow shall bring, but I didn’t have any problems during the day’s journey. It was a lovely day again; my concern is that all my pictures are just endless shots of the trail disappearing among the trees. The photos just can’t capture the endless layers of hues and shapes kaleidoscoping into the distance. It’s certainly the most beautiful landscape I’ve hiked through.

Now for a whining bit. (I am actually quite concerned that people are going to stop reading this entirely due to my endless complaints about the adventure of a lifetime. To you all, I can only apologize: I’m trying to capture my feelings and thoughts honestly, and I just can’t put on the mask and shape them into a narrative of simple triumph, much as I’d like to.) Today I met a fellow hiker, Quad (and since I’m far ahead of the pack, I may not meet many others). Quad was a genial, gangly young fellow swanning down the trail. He’s been hiking for about a month and a half, and upon my asking how he was finding it, he replied, “Oh, I love it.” We parted soon after as he pulled away at speed.

My only thought and question after this was a simple one: why am I not loving this? It seems like every element—nature, solitude, romantic adventure—is in place, and there are certainly moments of peace and beauty, but the daily journey feels like a weight. I suppose it’s a clash between what I imagined myself to be and what I actually am. As I suggested to my wife, that’s valuable information; it may be wiser to discover it without sinking oneself into enormous and costly projects, however.

Despite this philosophical rumination, I’m doing okay tonight. Here’s looking forward to greater and greater wisdom in the days to come.

I’m not sure this will get through tonight, so I’m not attaching photos. Imagine a picture of a trail wending into an magical forest, and you’ll have the right idea.

Categories: Uncategorized | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “What Is Love?

  1. Lois

    As an Oregonian, I say keep it up; you haven’t nearly seen the best of our state yet!

  2. jerry

    Thank you for your honesty. It’s refreshing in an age of bluster and self promotion.

  3. Alpha Pair

    At least enormous and costly projects come with the rewards of grand revelations and discoveries, even if they’re not quite the ones you were expecting. It’s pretty hard to discover much about yourself from the comfort of an armchair (though I admit, I have made a valiant effort to do exactly that).

  4. Carol

    Keep going and enjoy God’s creations!

  5. I’m still immensely proud and in awe of you for pursuing this undertaking, brother! I agree with the above sentiments and would not have put it so eloquently, but that’s probably because I spend almost every waking moment around the little people. “How do you know unless you try it?” would probably be my comment…While it may not seem like it every day of your adventure, but you are learning a lot and gaining valuable experiences, even if they aren’t the ones you were expecting. Our Father is funny that way 🙂 Still praying for you and enjoying reading about your quest.

  6. Anthony Progenitor Slusser

    Know ye thou not, fine fellow, the personal journal of many a sojourner and expiditiary, are rift with self doubt and honest reflection to which scant few are privy. Be assured you are in the company of the likes of Bird, Columbus! Saul of Tarsus, and more probably every PCT venturers who hath trodden the very earth beneath your feet?

What thinkest thou?

Blog at WordPress.com.

SOBAD Adventures

It's not about the destination; It's about the journey

The Incline of the Crest

A Romp Through the West

nancyhikes

A place to share my adventures, travels and photos

embracing the path

adventurer, seeker, explorer

Korbi Thalhammer

Adventures--both urban and wild--with Korbi

Deeper Waters

Diving into the ocean of truth.

15 Million Steps

Built on a collection of words, photography, and videos

Rediscovering The Soul

My life re-imagined

Stories From A Nomad

Inspiring stories from an epic journey of life by one

REMOTE LEIGH

off the beaten path

One Who Cannot

There are some who can live without wild things, and some who cannot - Aldo Leopold

I Could Drive Forever

but i'm walking instead

Comments on:

Being a record of the journeys of a literary sojourner

Trail Kit

Being a record of the journeys of a literary sojourner

Becky and Luke Hike the PCT

Follow us as we walk 2,660 miles from Mexico to Canada on the Pacific Crest Trail

kelsey hikes

2660 miles on the PCT

Quetzaltrekking on the PCT

Hiking volcanoes (and now the Pacific Crest Trail) to help kids

Just Two Hikers

The Adventures of Dormouse and Dirt Stew

Love and Dirt

adventure du jour

Authored Angioplasty

A Poem Project

Wee Jots

Learning to be ever steady in who He is.

Navigating the surface

Pacific Crest Trail 2014, Northbound hiker journal.

Being a record of the journeys of a literary sojourner

Cheeseburger Hikes

Being a record of the journeys of a literary sojourner

Doodles Does the PCT

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Eat, Hike, Repeat

From the PCT to the CT

Whiteburn's Wanderings

One man's wanderings backpacking around Scotland plus the odd digression

The Girl Who Lived

Being a record of the journeys of a literary sojourner

trekalong.com/

books and stories of travel and adventure

Jan's Jaunts and Jabberings

Just some joyful jawing about backpacking, hiking and snowshoeing

So Many Miles

Thru-hiking. Truck-driving. Miles.

getsomepct

Get Some: Steph and Art's Pacific Crest Trail Journey.

Wild Writes

By Anna M. Cohen

Hitting The Trail

In every walk with nature, one receives far more that he seeks.~ John Muir

DREAMING OF THE PACIFIC CREST TRAIL

Planning my PCT 2015 adventure..From the start in Oklahoma to the end in Canada

