Shift in Position

If you’ve read C.S. Lewis’ The Silver Chair, you know of Harfang. Our protagonists are trekking through the wild, tired and hungry, and a scheming witch tells them of that city, populated by “gentle giants,” where they will be cared for and fed and housed. The children drive themselves to distraction thereafter with thinking of all the pleasures they will enjoy upon reaching the city after their arduous journey.

Today, the Greensprings Inn was my Harfang.

(Thankfully, unlike in the book, [spoilers for a work published sixty years ago] nobody attempted to cook and eat me. My story has a happier ending. So far… [end spoilers for a book you should really read right now if you somehow missed it up until this point in your life])

I set out from just south of Ashland, near Callahan’s Lodge, and found myself on a planet far removed from my Southern California experience. The air was crisp and cool, with low clouds drifting overhead. The trail was gentle and soft (save for occasional stretches of volcanic rock). And everything was green! Landscapes come in colors besides brown! Who knew?

It was a beautiful day; I took so many pictures I feared my phone might burst. My body was a bit shocked to be back on the trail, but got into step reasonably well. I walked amongst moss-draped pines and along volcanic ridges; I hiked past a peregrine falcon nesting area (no sightings, sadly) and saw the distant prospect of Mt. Shasta to the south; I wandered through meadows strewn with a yellow and white and purple-blue and red profusions of blooms. I planned on going just 8 or 10 miles.

But then I read in my guide of the Green Springs Inn, with its fabulous hamburgers and free camping for hikers.

So here I sit (on the deck in the cold breeze so as not to offend other diners—they would have let me sit inside, but I didn’t want to be rude), 18 miles later, stuffed with an amazing bleu cheese and avocado burger and a whopping piece of apple pie, sipping coffee and typing this. I’m the first hiker they’ve seen this year. With something as simple as skipping 1,300 miles of trail, I’ve suddenly gone from the back of the pack to the front. Amazing.

It was worth it. Tomorrow will be an easy day, though; my legs don’t seem to want to work…

20140620-210412-75852734.jpg

Setting off.

20140620-210534-75934263.jpg

World of green.

20140620-210713-76033751.jpg

Pilot Rock, the peregrine nesting site (which is really hard not to see as a smiling giant’s head rising over the trees).

20140620-211225-76345136.jpg

Sweet.

Categories: Uncategorized | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Shift in Position

  1. Anthony Slusser

    Glad to help you get on the trail again. Enjoy, son-o-mine.

  2. ^^This is why I’m following your blog, Professor. Days like this. Wish I was there, keep up the good work.

  3. Just beautiful, even the burger. Tally ho!

What thinkest thou?

Blog at WordPress.com.

SOBAD Adventures

It's not about the destination; It's about the journey

The Incline of the Crest

A Romp Through the West

nancyhikes

A place to share my adventures, travels and photos

embracing the path

adventurer, seeker, explorer

Korbi Thalhammer

Adventures--both urban and wild--with Korbi

Deeper Waters

Diving into the ocean of truth.

15 Million Steps

Built on a collection of words, photography, and videos

Rediscovering The Soul

My life re-imagined

Stories From A Nomad

Inspiring stories from an epic journey of life by one

REMOTE LEIGH

off the beaten path

One Who Cannot

There are some who can live without wild things, and some who cannot - Aldo Leopold

I Could Drive Forever

but i'm walking instead

Comments on:

Being a record of the journeys of a literary sojourner

Trail Kit

Being a record of the journeys of a literary sojourner

Becky and Luke Hike the PCT

Follow us as we walk 2,660 miles from Mexico to Canada on the Pacific Crest Trail

kelsey hikes

2660 miles on the PCT

Quetzaltrekking on the PCT

Hiking volcanoes (and now the Pacific Crest Trail) to help kids

Just Two Hikers

The Adventures of Dormouse and Dirt Stew

Love and Dirt

adventure du jour

Authored Angioplasty

A Poem Project

Wee Jots

Learning to be ever steady in who He is.

I am You. We are God.

A Call To Consciousness

Navigating the surface

Pacific Crest Trail 2014, Northbound hiker journal.

Being a record of the journeys of a literary sojourner

Cheeseburger Hikes

Being a record of the journeys of a literary sojourner

Doodles Does the PCT

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Eat, Hike, Repeat

From the PCT to the CT

Whiteburn's Wanderings

One man's wanderings backpacking around Scotland plus the odd digression

The Girl Who Lived

Being a record of the journeys of a literary sojourner

trekalong.com/

books and stories of travel and adventure

Jan's Jaunts and Jabberings

Just some joyful jawing about backpacking, hiking and snowshoeing

So Many Miles

Thru-hiking. Truck-driving. Miles.

getsomepct

Get Some: Steph and Art's Pacific Crest Trail Journey.

Wild Writes

By Anna M. Cohen

Hitting The Trail

In every walk with nature, one receives far more that he seeks.~ John Muir

DREAMING OF THE PACIFIC CREST TRAIL

Planning my PCT 2015 adventure..From the start in Oklahoma to the end in Canada

