Homebound

I’ve been at home for three days since my injury, and it looks like it may be a few more before I feel able to get back on the trail again. Even that’s sketchy: the doctor did not give me a definitive length of recovery (his exact words when I asked were, “If I tell you a week, it’ll be ten days—your body will let you know”), so I’m wrestling with determining when I’m ready. Return too early and I risk further injury; too late, and the trip may be jeopardized. I recognize that the latter is preferable to the former, but it’s still a dilemma. This is complicated by my distrust of my own body. I can’t tell if the pain I’m feeling is the kind I should push through, or the kind I should give way before until it’s gone. Should I stay off it as much as possible, or try to reintegrate some walking as it’s healing? So many questions.

I’ve spent far too much of the past days mulling over options, concerns, fears, ambitions, and plans. Time yet for a hundred indecisions, and for a hundred visions and revisions. My wife has suggested that I take it even easier when I’m back on the trail, but this would put me even further behind schedule—and at something like 8-10 miles a day, I’m not certain I could make it between resupply stops. A lot of this is theoretical, and could probably be sorted out on the trail itself, but it makes for exhausting mental gymnastics while I’m laid up.

Meanwhile, I’m eating real food and sleeping in a bed, which were comforts I didn’t appreciate as much before my very brief trail jaunt. I’ll be going through my pack soon to get her cleaned up and try to drop off some gear to lighten the load as much as possible. I’m also trying to discover the best way to wrap an ankle for tendon issues.

The trail beckons once more; now it’s just up to the unstable combination of my body and mind to find the right time to return.

Here are some of photos from my digital camera of those first days to brighten this rather dull post.

My first of four horned toad sightings. Each had different markings, interestingly enough.

My first of four horned toad sightings. Each had different markings, interestingly enough.

The lands of home, from my high point on the first day.

The lands of home, from my high point on the first day.

The standing reminders of recent fires.

The standing reminders of recent fires.

A teasing view of distant refreshment.

A teasing view of distant refreshment.

Life hanging on in the desert.

Life hanging on in the desert.

Categories: Uncategorized | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Homebound

  1. Lisa Voogd

    Have you yet discovered RockTape (or KT – “kinesio tape”)? It’s used by Olympians and professional athletes… and even amateurs like me. I’d describe it as the love child of that stiff old athletic tape and the stretchy softness of an ace bandage. Non-bulky, water-resistent, can be worn 2-3 days between changes. I think it will be your new best friend!

    • I went out and bought Rock Tape (from the one store within fifty miles that sells it) before I left; I have yet to figure out the best way to use it yet, though. I suppose this is my chance.

  2. Lisa Voogd

    They have tons of “how to” videos on YouTube. Rock Tape was the only thing that gave my foot relief when I sprained it last year. I had to take a few days off from exercising, but the tape let me resume when I was not fully healed. It also made daily shuffling to/from car and office bearable during the first few days.

What thinkest thou?

Blog at WordPress.com.

SOBAD Adventures

It's not about the destination; It's about the journey

The Incline of the Crest

A Romp Through the West

nancyhikes

A place to share my adventures, travels and photos

embracing the path

adventurer, seeker, explorer

Korbi Thalhammer

Adventures--both urban and wild--with Korbi

Deeper Waters

Diving into the ocean of truth.

15 Million Steps

Built on a collection of words, photography, and videos

Rediscovering The Soul

My life re-imagined

Stories From A Nomad

Inspiring stories from an epic journey of life by one

REMOTE LEIGH

off the beaten path

One Who Cannot

There are some who can live without wild things, and some who cannot - Aldo Leopold

I Could Drive Forever

but i'm walking instead

Comments on:

Being a record of the journeys of a literary sojourner

Trail Kit

Being a record of the journeys of a literary sojourner

Becky and Luke Hike the PCT

Follow us as we walk 2,660 miles from Mexico to Canada on the Pacific Crest Trail

kelsey hikes

2660 miles on the PCT

Quetzaltrekking on the PCT

Hiking volcanoes (and now the Pacific Crest Trail) to help kids

Just Two Hikers

The Adventures of Dormouse and Dirt Stew

Love and Dirt

adventure du jour

Authored Angioplasty

A Poem Project

Wee Jots

Learning to be ever steady in who He is.

I am You. We are God.

A Call To Consciousness

Navigating the surface

Pacific Crest Trail 2014, Northbound hiker journal.

Being a record of the journeys of a literary sojourner

Cheeseburger Hikes

Being a record of the journeys of a literary sojourner

Doodles Does the PCT

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Eat, Hike, Repeat

From the PCT to the CT

Whiteburn's Wanderings

One man's wanderings backpacking around Scotland plus the odd digression

The Girl Who Lived

Being a record of the journeys of a literary sojourner

trekalong.com/

books and stories of travel and adventure

Jan's Jaunts and Jabberings

Just some joyful jawing about backpacking, hiking and snowshoeing

So Many Miles

Thru-hiking. Truck-driving. Miles.

getsomepct

Get Some: Steph and Art's Pacific Crest Trail Journey.

Wild Writes

By Anna M. Cohen

Hitting The Trail

In every walk with nature, one receives far more that he seeks.~ John Muir

DREAMING OF THE PACIFIC CREST TRAIL

Planning my PCT 2015 adventure..From the start in Oklahoma to the end in Canada

