Leavetaking

My first blog post from the trail is a bit trickier than I had hoped. My shiny silicone flexible Bluetooth keyboard is swell, but doesn’t work so well when there’s no flat surface to set it on…

I’m at mile 295 or so, sitting in my tent as a cool breeze and clouds roll through the sky. I only went about 15 miles today, as per a promise to my wife to take it easy at the start. I’ll have to see how well I can keep that promise tomorrow–I’m not certain there are any camping spots within easy reach.

I’m at the Holcomb Crossing Trail Camp, a wide, flat area with fire rings and nothing else. This, as have been most things on my journey so far, is appropriate. We used to come here with my Boy Scout troop when I was a kid. It was here (during one of those trips) that I dislocated my knee a second time, necessitating my father running miles down the trail to catch the group on horseback that had ridden through earlier in the day, and with whose help I rode out of the canyon behind Ed from Apple Valley on a horse named Wheat T. And it was here, on a cold January day ten years ago, that I first started seriously getting back into backpacking and dreaming of the PCT.

The most difficult part of the day, by far, was actually leaviing. i’ve been itching to get on the trail while also being filled with wonder and terror at the idea, but it wasn’t until I had to say goodbye to my wife and kids that it fully struck me how little I’ll see of them for the next several months. They, too, are excited for me, but I was weepy all morning after my departure. (Thankfully, this was somewhat mitigated by my leaving behind my gaiters and gloves, requiring a return to the house and another round of leave-taking, this one with more amusement.)

Now for my overly sentimental nerd thing for today. Remember in Gladiator how, at the beginning of the film, we see Maximus pull out little clay representations of his family, to remind him of them and their importance? Well, I had my loved ones build Lego mini-figure versions of themselves to carry with me. You can see their picture below.

The trek from the house to the trail was a long one, with a lot of elevation loss and gain. I met my first stranger about 5 yards along the PCT: a fisherman plying Holcomb Creek. Our conversational highlight went like this:

Fisherman: Are you just out here hiking?

Me: Actually, I’m hiking the Pacific Crest Trail; you’re standing on it now. It runs from Mexico to Canada.

Fisherman: Wow! That’s amazing! Where did you start?

Me: Right here.

Fisherman: *much gufffawing*

Since I only hiked about 3 miles of the actual PCT, I didn’t see any fellow trekkers, though a few pairs have passed me since I set up camp. I have a feeling I’m going to be at the very back of this herd soon…

The wind is rising; I’m off to prepare for bed. Tomorrow: will I survive tonight’s Siracha? Also, it would appear thieves snuck in and stole my hair!

20140519-192050.jpg

20140520-090828.jpg

20140520-090854.jpg

20140520-090915.jpg

Categories: Pacific Crest Trail, Uncategorized | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

What thinkest thou?

Blog at WordPress.com.

SOBAD Adventures

It's not about the destination; It's about the journey

The Incline of the Crest

A Romp Through the West

nancyhikes

A place to share my adventures, travels and photos

embracing the path

adventurer, seeker, explorer

Korbi Thalhammer

Adventures--both urban and wild--with Korbi

Deeper Waters

Diving into the ocean of truth.

15 Million Steps

Built on a collection of words, photography, and videos

Rediscovering The Soul

My life re-imagined

Stories From A Nomad

Inspiring stories from an epic journey of life by one

REMOTE LEIGH

off the beaten path

One Who Cannot

There are some who can live without wild things, and some who cannot - Aldo Leopold

I Could Drive Forever

but i'm walking instead

Comments on:

Being a record of the journeys of a literary sojourner

Trail Kit

Being a record of the journeys of a literary sojourner

Becky and Luke Hike the PCT

Follow us as we walk 2,660 miles from Mexico to Canada on the Pacific Crest Trail

kelsey hikes

2660 miles on the PCT

Quetzaltrekking on the PCT

Hiking volcanoes (and now the Pacific Crest Trail) to help kids

Just Two Hikers

The Adventures of Dormouse and Dirt Stew

Love and Dirt

adventure du jour

Authored Angioplasty

A Poem Project

Wee Jots

Learning to be ever steady in who He is.

I am You. We are God.

A Call To Consciousness

Navigating the surface

Pacific Crest Trail 2014, Northbound hiker journal.

Being a record of the journeys of a literary sojourner

Cheeseburger Hikes

Being a record of the journeys of a literary sojourner

Doodles Does the PCT

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Eat, Hike, Repeat

From the PCT to the CT

Whiteburn's Wanderings

One man's wanderings backpacking around Scotland plus the odd digression

The Girl Who Lived

Being a record of the journeys of a literary sojourner

trekalong.com/

books and stories of travel and adventure

Jan's Jaunts and Jabberings

Just some joyful jawing about backpacking, hiking and snowshoeing

So Many Miles

Thru-hiking. Truck-driving. Miles.

getsomepct

Get Some: Steph and Art's Pacific Crest Trail Journey.

Wild Writes

By Anna M. Cohen

Hitting The Trail

In every walk with nature, one receives far more that he seeks.~ John Muir

DREAMING OF THE PACIFIC CREST TRAIL

Planning my PCT 2015 adventure..From the start in Oklahoma to the end in Canada

