A Tiny Preview of the Trail

As preparation continues for hiking a couple of thousand miles, it turns out that the bit of training that gets omitted is the actual hiking. Between trying to wrangle my classes and grading into shape, taking care of paperwork, trying to get our house and the family squared away, buying equipment and supplies, typing blog posts and support letters, and heaven only knows what else, I’ve only hit the trail sporadically of late.

This is why I was pleased during the kick-off to take an afternoon to hike a mile or two up the trail from Lake Morena. It was on Friday, as the weather transitioned from hot and sunny into the freezing rain and blasting wind gusts it would devolve into that night.

The trail tread leaving the lake is sandy and wide, crossed by many dragon-tracks of bike riders and off-road vehicles. The path wends through weedy oases, green and blowing in the vales that rise from the lake itself into scrub and stone.

Window on Morena

The Road Goes On

The weather was shifting and wisped clouds were beginning to race across they sky; the cool breeze was a benediction. I climbed up gently from the valley below, watching stone and sage unfold around me in undulating waves.

Our Lord's Candle

cropped-p4250044.jpg

At the peak of my walk, I decided that the barefoot walking style might be most accurately accomplished if I was, in fact, barefoot. The trail tread was soft and clear, so it seemed a good point at which to give it a go. It turned out to be a great thing; on good stretches, I’m hoping to continue the tradition. I didn’t feel any grand, mystical connection to the Earth and all her creatures, nor did I somehow feel more powerful and primitive, but it was pleasant to have sand and soil beneath my soles, and it certainly made me mindful of each detail of the trail.

It's a long way down.

It’s a long way down.

As I made my way back toward the gathering, the breezes grew more chill and I trod through alternating sun and shadow as the clouds grew. One standing stone greeted me upon my return.

Revelation

It was fortuitous timing: by the time I got back, changed into warmer gear, and got dinner, the wind was blowing fiercely and the cold began to set in. That night, the temperatures dropped into the high thirties and bursts of wind-driven rain hurled themselves against my shelter all night. (My tent stood up to the onslaught very well, I’m pleased to report, and my layering system kept me warm, so that little preview of what may lie ahead was reassuring. Many hikers were not so lucky.)

May all the journey turn out so blessed, and may I have the strength and resiliency to carry on with a bright heart when it does not.

Categories: Pacific Crest Trail, Preparation | Tags: , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “A Tiny Preview of the Trail

  1. Anthony Slusser

    I am taken a bit aback to my senior year of high school, not for the trail, but for the reconture of the passage. It brings to mind Henry David Thoreau’s frequent musing on his solitary dwelling amid the veils of Walden Pond. I strongly delight in your shared passages, both traveled and written, and continue to look forward to same such poat
    ings. The Progenitor.

What thinkest thou?

Blog at WordPress.com.

SOBAD Adventures

It's not about the destination; It's about the journey

The Incline of the Crest

A Romp Through the West

nancyhikes

A place to share my adventures, travels and photos

embracing the path

adventurer, seeker, explorer

Korbi Thalhammer

Adventures--both urban and wild--with Korbi

Deeper Waters

Diving into the ocean of truth.

15 Million Steps

Built on a collection of words, photography, and videos

Rediscovering The Soul

My life re-imagined

Stories From A Nomad

Inspiring stories from an epic journey of life by one

REMOTE LEIGH

off the beaten path

One Who Cannot

There are some who can live without wild things, and some who cannot - Aldo Leopold

I Could Drive Forever

but i'm walking instead

Comments on:

Being a record of the journeys of a literary sojourner

Trail Kit

Being a record of the journeys of a literary sojourner

Becky and Luke Hike the PCT

Follow us as we walk 2,660 miles from Mexico to Canada on the Pacific Crest Trail

kelsey hikes

2660 miles on the PCT

Quetzaltrekking on the PCT

Hiking volcanoes (and now the Pacific Crest Trail) to help kids

Just Two Hikers

The Adventures of Dormouse and Dirt Stew

Love and Dirt

adventure du jour

Authored Angioplasty

A Poem Project

Wee Jots

Learning to be ever steady in who He is.

Navigating the surface

Pacific Crest Trail 2014, Northbound hiker journal.

Being a record of the journeys of a literary sojourner

Cheeseburger Hikes

Being a record of the journeys of a literary sojourner

Doodles Does the PCT

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Eat, Hike, Repeat

From the PCT to the CT

Whiteburn's Wanderings

One man's wanderings backpacking around Scotland plus the odd digression

The Girl Who Lived

Being a record of the journeys of a literary sojourner

trekalong.com/

books and stories of travel and adventure

Jan's Jaunts and Jabberings

Just some joyful jawing about backpacking, hiking and snowshoeing

So Many Miles

Thru-hiking. Truck-driving. Miles.

getsomepct

Get Some: Steph and Art's Pacific Crest Trail Journey.

Wild Writes

By Anna M. Cohen

Hitting The Trail

In every walk with nature, one receives far more that he seeks.~ John Muir

DREAMING OF THE PACIFIC CREST TRAIL

Planning my PCT 2015 adventure..From the start in Oklahoma to the end in Canada

