Training Hikes

Life has been complicated. With the end of the semester approaching and family issues keeping me away from home and on a bizarre schedule these days, I have not been training at all like I’d planned. I can feel it some days, and I can see it in the mirror most days. It’s frustrating, though I also recognize it’s an excuse: I could be fitting in more exercise if I made it a priority. It’s my normal response to a looming chunk of work (and little looms larger than this hike, though in the best of ways): avoid it most of the time, and fret about it fiercely the rest. At least in this case it’s a thrilling, exciting, hopeful giant chunk of effort ahead, so I’m far more positive about it than, say, grading research papers.

A few weeks ago, though, I did work in a few days of hiking.

Journey the First

The first of these trips was close to home. I was making my traditional journey to town and back, when I realized that every time I do this, I pass a deep valley on Forest Service land which I had never entered. Feeling uncharacteristically flexible, I turned onto the faded and rutted path that lead steeply down. It shadowed a creek on steep hillsides, often nearly disappearing, and then finally petered out within sight of Deep Creek. I have been on the lower end of Deep Creek, but have never seen this section I’ve lived next to for over a decade.

The hidden vale just beyond my usual paths.

The hidden vale just beyond my usual paths.

It was lovely, though clearly a hangout for folks who have no particular devotion to Leave No Trace philosophy. Interestingly, the roads and paths here seem to be from a much earlier era of the community’s development, with some signs of old waterworks. My shot at artistry came from taking a photo of the stark, aching remains of an old bicycle that had clearly burned and melted in our last fire.

The Song of the Lonely Velocipede

The Song of the Lonely Velocipede

Journey the Second

The much bigger training came a week later. In an attempt to discover the path I’ll take on my departure date, I set off from home in the early morning to scout the route. I did find an old forest road on my topo map and passed over Deep Creek once again on my way up to Green Valley Lake and from thence, the trail. I was a little surprised to find a private camp at the top of that road, so had to stealth my way across the grounds in my first act of PCT-related larceny. In my defense, I was looking to find an employee to ask if I could have permission to pass through; I just didn’t find one before I got to the main road. (I do know the organization that owns the camp, though, so I will be speaking with them before I begin the full trek. I am nothing if not a coward before the law.)

Manzanita NurseryThe path was long and winding, but it was kind of glorious to be taking a lengthy walk with my trail gear. I managed to get to the PCT and onto a section I’d done some years before. The area had been sweptby the fires of recent years, though, so much of what I remembered a towering pine forest was now mostly charred scree and some areas of haunting desolation. Signs of returning life were beginning to show, though: it seems that clearing out the forest floor allowed a kind of manzanita nursery to appear with explosions of olive green from the sandy ground, and the stark chimneys of scoured oak trunks were sporting collars of sapling sprays.

Multilith

Sere HillIn all, I made approximately 25 miles, which is more than I intend to do on my first days on the trail by a chunk. I was certainly pretty worn by the time I arrived at my campsite, which was on a windswept plateau that used to be a copse of pines. I got my tent up and got inside just before dark, when a haunting moon rose over the distant hills.

Moontide

It was an eerie night: with so little vegetation, the wind made no sound except the ruffle against the side of my tent, and there were no insects or other night creatures that could be heard. It was so bright that I kept waking throughout the night, each time thinking it was morning.

When morning did arrive, I discovered why experienced hikers tell you to start with lower miles. I felt okay to start, but once out on the trail my body would just not respond with the gusto I had the previous day. It was slow going, and by the time I climbed back up to a main road at around mile sixteen, I realized I could make it the rest of the way but wouldn’t be very happy for it. Thanks to cell phone technology, my wife came to ship me home.

In all, I was fairly pleased. Though I was beat that second day, I did not suffer any lasting ill effects the next; I kept my feet and the rest of me in good shape; my gear all worked well; and through all the emotional heights and valleys, I felt like I had gotten a fleeting glimpse of what may await.

I leave you with a short video clip I made on the morning of the second day. Forgive the sniffing from the nose of the cold hiker. For some reason, I thought turning about while I was filming would allow for some sense of my surroundings; I think it may induce vertigo instead, so watch at your own risk (for that, and so many reasons).

 

Categories: Pacific Crest Trail, Preparation | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Training Hikes

  1. Anthony Slusser

    Huzzah for the camera angle! Very “Survivor Mannish”. This is the fresh and spontaneous that brings us onto the trail with the adventurer. I am excited to see the more of it! Pop

  2. drunkenpixie

    I’ve always said the same about weather (loving the rain and mist etc) but I’ve been assured that this is due to having lived in southern California my whole life. Glad to see you’re out getting some practice in! So excited for your trip! 🙂

  3. Your first sentence of today’s blog entry made me smile. As a married father of 3 at 38 with a full time job and a grad degree underway, I’m dreaming about doing the PCT. So you Prof. are my guinea pig of how to manage the family/career aspect of this trip. The walking 2600 miles part seems easy to me. I’m pulling for you(us). 😉 Matt

  4. Thanks for the responsibility, Matt. It was quite a leap. I’d been dreaming of the PCT for years, and had essentially resigned myself to waiting until the children were well grown. I don’t know if it was a result of wearing my wife down or her own incredible willingness to take chances and trust in God, but she opened the door. Once I started to step through, I think she started to have concerns, but she’s marvelous at dealing with them. I needed to recruit her and the kids to be my cheer squad, to be as excited as I was about the journey, or I couldn’t have even started out on the trail in good conscience. They’ll also be meeting me along the way at various points, so that will help to mitigate the long absence.

    I look forward to seeing what will happen, myself–and hopefully, you can use my experience to make yours go even more smoothly…

  5. Oh, yes. Idaho made me love the sun. We’ll see what shape your weather preferences take over time!

What thinkest thou?

Blog at WordPress.com.

SOBAD Adventures

It's not about the destination; It's about the journey

The Incline of the Crest

A Romp Through the West

nancyhikes

A place to share my adventures, travels and photos

embracing the path

adventurer, seeker, explorer

Korbi Thalhammer

Adventures--both urban and wild--with Korbi

Deeper Waters

Diving into the ocean of truth.

15 Million Steps

Built on a collection of words, photography, and videos

Rediscovering The Soul

My life re-imagined

Stories From A Nomad

Inspiring stories from an epic journey of life by one

REMOTE LEIGH

off the beaten path

One Who Cannot

There are some who can live without wild things, and some who cannot - Aldo Leopold

I Could Drive Forever

but i'm walking instead

Comments on:

Being a record of the journeys of a literary sojourner

Trail Kit

Being a record of the journeys of a literary sojourner

Becky and Luke Hike the PCT

Follow us as we walk 2,660 miles from Mexico to Canada on the Pacific Crest Trail

kelsey hikes

2660 miles on the PCT

Quetzaltrekking on the PCT

Hiking volcanoes (and now the Pacific Crest Trail) to help kids

Just Two Hikers

The Adventures of Dormouse and Dirt Stew

Love and Dirt

adventure du jour

Authored Angioplasty

A Poem Project

Wee Jots

Learning to be ever steady in who He is.

Navigating the surface

Pacific Crest Trail 2014, Northbound hiker journal.

Being a record of the journeys of a literary sojourner

Cheeseburger Hikes

Being a record of the journeys of a literary sojourner

Doodles Does the PCT

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Eat, Hike, Repeat

From the PCT to the CT

Whiteburn's Wanderings

One man's wanderings backpacking around Scotland plus the odd digression

The Girl Who Lived

Being a record of the journeys of a literary sojourner

trekalong.com/

books and stories of travel and adventure

Jan's Jaunts and Jabberings

Just some joyful jawing about backpacking, hiking and snowshoeing

So Many Miles

Thru-hiking. Truck-driving. Miles.

getsomepct

Get Some: Steph and Art's Pacific Crest Trail Journey.

Wild Writes

By Anna M. Cohen

Hitting The Trail

In every walk with nature, one receives far more that he seeks.~ John Muir

DREAMING OF THE PACIFIC CREST TRAIL

Planning my PCT 2015 adventure..From the start in Oklahoma to the end in Canada

