Milestones and Paperwork

A couple of days ago I turned 41.

When it comes to PCT hikers, I’m part of a very small cohort, age-wise. There’s a significant number of hikers who hit the trail in their twenties: people taking time before they get to college, or between college and a career. Then the numbers dwindle as the graph approaches middle age, as we are entrenched in jobs and families and other adult-type responsibilities (that I am so good at shirking). The numbers jump again in later life, as trekkers who have dreamed of the trail all their lives retire and finally get their chance (or continue coming back, after having been enraptured by the trail in earlier travels).

I don’t mind at all being in the statistical minority; I’m actually fairly happy about it. Hopefully this means I’ve come to my senses (or am setting out to find them) later than some, but earlier than others.

So on my birthday, I set out to walk from my house to the post office—a little 6-mile jaunt—with my pack near pack weight. It was also a chance to test out my new camera. The images here are the result, and they look pretty fair to me.

The Winter Hills

This might normally be covered in snow, but not this year.

The Burned Spires

Remnants of a burn a few years ago.

The Winter Leaves

Beauty in surprising places.

Dry Landscape

The hills descending to the desert far below.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I also walked past the first house I ever rented, the house Joanna and I shared when we were first married. It’s a beautiful little cabin, old-fashioned and quaint, and though it was excessively tiny, I still miss it.

My first cottage.

The most charming house I’ve ever had.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Want more media file fun? Here’s my first attempt at filming video, which I may do from time to time along the trail. It’s dull and rather pointless, but then again, so often, so am I.

Man, it’s hard to watch oneself on video. Sorry for the low angle—I hope you enjoy my nostrils! I also enjoy how ridiculously huge my hat looks. Ideally I’ll iron out the bugs as I go along.

The real challenge of hiking is 2,660 miles, though, as it turns out, is PAPERWORK. I kid you not. There are multiple permits to be applied for, and these have not been bad. (The PCTA actually issues one thru-hiker permit good for all the state parks, national monuments, national forests, and federal wilderness areas the trail passes through, which is a blessing.) It’s the national border that’s tricky. The Canada Entry permit form is oddly byzantine, and I’m pretty sure when I mailed it, it was wrong. We’ll see if they let me in anyway. Getting my passport has been a week-long slog of endless forms and expenses. (Oddly, I don’t need a passport to get into Canada, but I do need one to get back from Canada to the US.) County of birth record checks, postage fees, notary fees, application fees—half my gear didn’t cost this much, and didn’t take half so much time and effort to gather.

In any case, these details are getting knocked out bit by bit. I’m just grateful I started somewhat early to give myself time to navigate through all the jigs and jags.

Categories: Uncategorized | 9 Comments

Post navigation

9 thoughts on “Milestones and Paperwork

  1. Ingrid

    I was wondering about the park permits – good to hear that they’ve come up with a “right-of-way” item. Glad to hear you got a passport, too, huzzah!

  2. If only. I’m off to see the notary today (weather permitting) to notarize my signature on the form that I can then submit to my county of origin so that they can send me a registered copy of my birth certificate so I can take that to the passport intake center so they can process my application for a passport. Then, Lord willing, I may eventually get a passport.

    Phew. I’m tired just typing that.

  3. Tee hee! Watching you is delightful. And way to hike in the paperwork! I like it. 🙂

  4. Anthony Slusser

    A chuckle, a chortle, a smile and deep thought,
    This, oh dear son, is what thou hast wrought,
    With recorder in hand and hat quite becoming,
    Oh that I might with thee be chumming.

    But since I am slave
    To family affairs obligation
    I shan’t, with thee, see
    This side of the nation.

    At least as you wander,
    Midst dale and ‘oer hill,
    My vicarious longings
    Will stand at your will.

    And if this be small sample
    Of ventures to follow,
    I deem myself blessed,
    Seeing each mount and hollow.

    So send us your ramblings,
    In verse, voice, and picture
    And I shall revel anew,
    IN each quite musing mixture.

    The Progenitor

    • Daddy, you are just cool. No wonder your kids are, too. ❤

      • the.slussers@verizon.net

        Oh daughter, my daughter, so charming and tall,Of the gifts I’ve been blessed, I have given you all.You are strong and courageous,

  5. My father, the poet. Thanks for the great words, Pop–they will keep me mindful of keeping folks at home informed and entertained, and of how great a blessing is this opportunity.

  6. Just wanted to thank you for the photos. I’ve been in the market for a new camera, especially wanted for my upcoming car camping/hiking vacation in Colorado this summer. My old one has been dropped repeatedly, frozen, rained on… and still works, but the photos are all pixilated now. This might be the ticket! Thanks and I look forward to following you this summer. 🙂

    • I just noticed this kind little note. Thanks for following along!

      In the time since I’ve bought the camera, it has continued to prove itself clear and reliable. I’m not nearly as technically minded as I should be, so doubtless I am not using the device to its full potential. That said, it’s probably a good sign that it is as easy to use as it is. I remain pleased.

What thinkest thou?

Blog at WordPress.com.

SOBAD Adventures

It's not about the destination; It's about the journey

The Incline of the Crest

A Romp Through the West

nancyhikes

A place to share my adventures, travels and photos

embracing the path

adventurer, seeker, explorer

Korbi Thalhammer

Adventures--both urban and wild--with Korbi

Deeper Waters

Diving into the ocean of truth.

15 Million Steps

Built on a collection of words, photography, and videos

Rediscovering The Soul

My life re-imagined

Stories From A Nomad

Inspiring stories from an epic journey of life by one

REMOTE LEIGH

off the beaten path

One Who Cannot

There are some who can live without wild things, and some who cannot - Aldo Leopold

I Could Drive Forever

but i'm walking instead

Comments on:

Being a record of the journeys of a literary sojourner

Trail Kit

Being a record of the journeys of a literary sojourner

Becky and Luke Hike the PCT

Follow us as we walk 2,660 miles from Mexico to Canada on the Pacific Crest Trail

kelsey hikes

2660 miles on the PCT

Quetzaltrekking on the PCT

Hiking volcanoes (and now the Pacific Crest Trail) to help kids

Just Two Hikers

The Adventures of Dormouse and Dirt Stew

Love and Dirt

adventure du jour

Authored Angioplasty

A Poem Project

Wee Jots

Learning to be ever steady in who He is.

Navigating the surface

Pacific Crest Trail 2014, Northbound hiker journal.

Being a record of the journeys of a literary sojourner

Cheeseburger Hikes

Being a record of the journeys of a literary sojourner

Doodles Does the PCT

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Eat, Hike, Repeat

From the PCT to the CT

Whiteburn's Wanderings

One man's wanderings backpacking around Scotland plus the odd digression

The Girl Who Lived

Being a record of the journeys of a literary sojourner

trekalong.com/

books and stories of travel and adventure

Jan's Jaunts and Jabberings

Just some joyful jawing about backpacking, hiking and snowshoeing

So Many Miles

Thru-hiking. Truck-driving. Miles.

getsomepct

Get Some: Steph and Art's Pacific Crest Trail Journey.

Wild Writes

By Anna M. Cohen

Hitting The Trail

In every walk with nature, one receives far more that he seeks.~ John Muir

DREAMING OF THE PACIFIC CREST TRAIL

Planning my PCT 2015 adventure..From the start in Oklahoma to the end in Canada

